Hello world. :) First, I'd like to ask all mothers and mothers-to-be, did your ultrasound tech give you digital pictures or did you scan your ultrasounds? I do not have a scanner, and I tried taking a picture of the picture of the ultrasound, but it looks so crappy, I'm not going to post it and disgrace my blog! :)
Anyway, I am almost to ten weeks--just a few more days! It is going by SO slowly, but so quickly at the same time. I think after the initial shock and cloud nineness wore off, time has started to pass a bit more quickly, thank the good Lord!
I am actually feeling a bit less queasy as the time passes, but I will tell you a little story I like to call "I Finally Threw Up". It goes a little something like this...
On Father's Day Sunday, I ate my usual cereal of choice, the highly nutritious Fruity Pebbles, but this time, I drank orange juice with it--the first time I've had OJ since Junior came into the picture. Before I got into the shower, I told Stuart I was feeling sick (I say this about ten times a day, so he didn't think much of it). I was doin' my thing in there, and had even gotten to the conditioner-in-hair stage (I do this BEFORE I wash my body, so my conditioner can marinate a little) and I thought to myself, "Uh oh, I better sit down, I'm either going to pass out, or throw up."
The next thing I knew, I was bent over puking my guts out. I'll spare you ALL the nasty details, but it was GRAY with a few multi-colored specks. I guess my tum tum can only digest so many pebbles at once. I yelled for Stuart, who ran into the bathroom and saw me bent over a pile of gray nastiness. He asked if I was ok, and if I needed anything, and at the time, I was feeling better so I said no. We cleaned the tub out, and I resumed my shower.
It wasn't a whole minute later that I was bent over chucking again! Stuart came to my rescue, I got out of the shower (conditioner in hair, mind you) and sat on the toilet while he cleaned up my mess. Now, girls, is that not a wonderful husband? He never once wretched, made comments about the stench...and you know vomit in a hot shower can't smell pleasant... and babied me the whole time. :)
Since I still had conditioner in my hair, I insisted on finishing my shower, only with cool water instead of hot. I maintain that the heat of the shower mixed with acidic OJ and sugary pebs is what did me in. We had to cancel our plans to take Stuart's dad to lunch because I was afraid my stomach was out of commission for the day.
Since then, knock on wood, I have felt pretty darn good. :) Maybe I just needed one good bleeccchhh to make me feel better. We shall see...
In other news, I want a mountain dew so bad I can't see straight. My baby NEEDS one! No, really! OK, maybe not, but momma sure wants one. I am sticking to my guns, however dumb/naive/silly anyone thinks it is... if my diet coke addict (no really, like a 12-pack a day) could give it up while I was in utero, I think I can do the same for little Grace or Sam. Which brings me to my next topic... NAMES!
We have already decided one our names, and they are:
Norah Grace (she will go by Grace, but daddy wants to call her Gracie)
or
Samuel Reid (he will go by Sam)
If you know much about my lineage, you know that parts of these names are significant to my side of the family. :) I come from a long line of Norahs... I am Norah Katherine, my mother is Norah Elizabeth, and my grandmother was Mary Norah. I am relatively sure that my great-grandmother was a Norah (family, help me out here?!), too. Anyway, my mom says she always wanted a "junior". "Men have juniors, I wanted one too!" she says. For the longest time, I protested...I always hated my name on the first day of school.
You know, the teacher doesn't know anyone, and calls roll... "Noah Berry, is there a Noah Berry?" Or even if the off chance that the teacher got my name right, giggles would erupt in the classroom of immature kiddos who think the name Norah is old-fashioned, or even *gasp* dorky. Well, I have to say, as I have gotten older (sigh), the name has become more appealing to me, and I have gotten more compliments. :) As far as the Grace goes, we just love the name. AND, as an added bonus, we found out that a distant relative of Stuart's on his dad's side was named Gracie. Hot darn!
If the baby is a boy, Sam has no real significance, we just like it. :) But Reid is my grandmother's maiden name...and because she was so important to me, Stuart and I have both agreed that honoring her is something we'd like to do.
Since my last post, I have expanded my maternity wardrobe even further. Pregnant ladies, take note: Gap Body Maternity is where it's AT! Comfy, CUTE, and not any more expensive than Motherhood Maternity. I have a couple of pairs of pants, a belly band (I am ASSuming my A$$ won't expand to the point that my current jeans don't fit...please?), and several sweaters and long sleeved t-shirts.
Baby Wiser has also accumulated some more clothes, thanks to my step dad's mom. He went to visit in Kuwait, and came back with an assortment of girl-appropriate onesies, and a "gender neutral" aka yellow and green set of clothes...and a hat and the little mittens! Precious. :)
We are still waiting on the whole home-buying process to pan out... kick me in the face. I refuse to bring Baby Wiser home to this apartment. Not only is it busting at the seams with STUFF, but we only have two bedrooms, and the second room is my cat's (Willer, had her since I was in 5th grade) room, and because we have to keep Oscar the Pug and Willer the Cat separated...sigh. We are OUT of space. and I am out of patience... but I am trying to keep my cool for baby. :) Our "dream home" is not working out (dang short sale), so Monday evening we are going to look at other houses. Hopefully we find out soon. :-/
In the mean time, please keep sending your prayers up! We have our big "gender revealing" appointment on September 8th (less than 3 months, is that not CRAZY!?) and we can't wait to plan Baby Wiser's first "party" shortly thereafter. Woohoo!